Why I Love Vintage & Thrifted Clothing

By Natalie Garza

There are a lot of reasons, so I think this might be better explained in pictures. In all these photos from my style blog, I’m wearing at least one vintage or thrifted piece. These are definitely some of my favorite outfits of all time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I’ve become an avid vintage clothing lover and thift store aficionado over the past few years, I’ve seen how it’s transformed my wardrobe and style. I love mixing my modern Target and Forever 21 clothing with my thrifted and vintage treasures. Being able to express my style in such a unique way is not only fun, but also rewarding. I get such satisfaction from finding an awesome vintage skirt and then realizing that the GAP blouse already hanging in my closet will go with it perfectly. And this top from H&M will look good with it, too. And this one from Old Navy! And my denim jacket!

You get the idea. I’m slightly obsessed.

I’m often asked where I buy my clothes. I really only have a handful of places I shop at regularly, mostly because of lack of time. Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of shopping at Cream Vintage, Goodwill, and Savers. I’ve also recently become hooked on visiting online vintage stores such as Market Publique. I’m hoping that through this blog, I’ll be exposed to a whole world of vintage and thrifted clothing here in Austin.

2 responses to “Why I Love Vintage & Thrifted Clothing

  1. I love the floral print flowy skirt, it’s beautiful. I’m always a little too shy and not fashionable enough to go vintage shopping. I might consider it now after seeing all your outfits.

  2. Natalie, you are inspirational! I became a style-blog addict a couple of years ago, and started trolling vintage stores soon after moving to Austin in 2006. When I noticed some of my favorite stores—Feathers, Prototype—slowly getting more expensive, I really got into exploring all of the awesome thrift stores in town. So far, my most prized thrifted discoveries: a black mesh Armani t-shirt, a See By Chloé sweater vest, a pair of Current/Elliott skinny jeans (14 bucks!) and the perfect vintage Guess denim button-down shirt. There’s nothing more satisfying, is there? Excited about your blog!

Leave a Reply

